Dvorák, Antonín
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra A minor op. 53
Edition no.
BA 10422
Volume / Series
Cividini, Iacopo
Language(s) of text
German, Czech, English
Product format
Score, Urtext edition
Replaces H 1597
Pages / Format
XXII, 152 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Dvorák’s Violin Concerto was composed between 1879 and 1882, with the active assistance of Joseph Joachim, and was issued by the publisher Fritz Simrock, Berlin in 1883. Its premiere took place in October of that same year with František Ondrícek as soloist.

This new Urtext edition is based on the first edition (score, solo violin part, piano reduction and orchestral parts). It also takes Dvorák’s autograph which served as a master copy for the engraving into consideration. A fresh assessment of Dvorák’s manuscript made it possible to reconstruct several variants ignored in the first and subsequent editions and to clarify ambiguities in the notation and articulation.

An important component of our Urtext edition is the original piano reduction, which probably stems from Dvorák himself, and in which Joseph Joachim’s fingering is published.

• First Urtext edition of the original piano reduction
• Variants in the solo part rendered as ossia passages
• Foreword on the work’s genesis (Ger/Cz/Eng) and detailed Critical Commentary (Eng) by the editor
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
Hier liegt Notenmaterial vor, das ich vorbehaltlos empfehlen mochte, weil es bei mir keine Wünsche offen lasst! […] Hier ist eine von viel Ballast befreite Ausgabe gelungen, die mich auf dieses wunderschöne Stuck wieder neugierig machen konnte!“
(Albrecht Winter, ESTA-Nachrichten, Oktober 2017)
59.00 €
incl. VAT