„Stabat mater“ and „Cantus Simplicissimus“

Two new works by Ľubica Čekovská

Ľubica Čekovská has composed “Three fragments from Stabat mater” for the Bavarian Radio Chorus. This receives its premiere at a performance of the original version of Antonín Dvořák’s setting of the “Stabat mater” for soloists, chorus and piano op. 58 on 2 March 2019 in Munich. Three unaccompanied compositions complement Dvořák’s seven-movement original version with the verses which he did not set from the medieval poem of sorrow, forming a kind of lingering echo to Dvořák’s composition. The conductor is Howard Arman.

The idea for the title for Ľubica Čekovská’s new orchestral composition is a singing orchestral line which she has composed as a homage to her native land, eastern Slovakia. “Cantus Simplicissimus” was commissioned by the Slovak State Philharmonic in Košice, the capital of the region where Humenné, the composer’s birthplace, also lies. The premiere will be conducted by Michael Zlabinger on 21 February 2019 in Košice.

21.2.2019 Košice
Ľubica Čekovská: Cantus Simplicissimus (World Premiere), Philharmonisches Orchester Košice, conductor: Michael Zladinger

2.3.2019 München (Prinzregententheater)
Ľubica Čekovská: Three fragments from Stabat mater for mixed choir (World Premiere)
Chor des Bayerischen Runsfunks, conductor: Howard Arman

More information about Ľubica Čekovská