Philipp Maintz


Born 28 February in Aachen


Composition studies with Michael Reudenbach in Aachen; theory and piano lessons at the Church Music School in Aachen


Composition degree with Robert HP Platz in Maastricht; bachelor’s and master’s degrees with distinction


Invitation to work at the Centre Henri Pousseur of the Université de Liège


Scholarship from the Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music; scholarship prize from the Summer Course; honourable mention at the International Gaudeamus Music Week Amsterdam


Stage de composition et d’informatique musicale at IRCAM, Paris;
Artist’s grant from the North-Rhine Westphalia Ministry of Education and Cultural Affairs


Postgraduate course in composition and electronic music with Karlheinz Essl at the Bruckner Conservatoire in Linz


Artist’s Scholarship from Lower Saxony for the Künstlerhof Schreyahn [Schreyahn Artists’ Studios]


Composer’s Prize from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation


Scholarship from the Wilfried Steinbrenner Foundation


Scholarship from the German Federal Government for the Cité Internationale des Arts Paris


Scholarship from the Akademie Schloss Solitude Stuttgart


Premiere of the opera MALDOROR at the Biennale Munich;
Scholarship from the German Federal Government for a one-year stay at the German Academy Rome Villa Massimo


Artiste resident on the Domaine National de Château de Chambord (Loir-et-Cher)


Scholarship of the International Künstlerhaus Villa Concordia Bamberg

Philipp Maintz lives in Berlin

Performers include:

  Arditti String Quartet, Quatuor Diotima, Zephyr Quartett, Minguet Quartett, Ensemble InterContemporain, Ensemble Alternance, Ensemble MusikFabrik, Ensemble Recherche, Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, Ensemble 2e2m, Scharoun Ensemble Berlin, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo, Sinfonieorchester Aachen, Sinfonieorchester Basel, Deutsche Radiophilharmonie Saarbrücken, Deutsches Sinfonieorchester Berlin, Münchner Philharmoniker

Hansjörg Albrecht, Claudia Barainsky, Yulianna Avdeeva, Francesco Filidei, Alban Gerhardt, Otto Katzameier, Melise Mellinger, Marisol Montalvo, Nils Mönkemeyer, Jean-Frédéric Neuburger

› To top ‹


More Information ‹

› To the composer portraits ‹

Foto: © Paavo Blåfield