CHOC (Monumento IV) for large ensemble


London (Barbican)

Ensemble intercontemporain, conductor: Matthias Pintscher

Matthias Pintscher - News

Music Director of the Ensemble intercontemporain from 2013/14

Matthias Pintscher has been appointed Music Director of the Ensemble intercontemporain. German-born conductor and composer Pintscher will take over this position at the start of the 2013-14 season. He will succeed Susanna Mälkki who held this post since 2006.

Portrait Matthias Pintscher - The Garden


Köln (Philharmonie)

nemeton for percussion solo

Whirling Tissue of Light for piano

Beyond (A System of Passing) for flute solo

The Garden. Memento for counter tenor, Percussion and piano. Text by Derek Jarman

Valer Sabadus (counter tenor), Emmanuel Pahud (flute), Igor Levit (piano), Johannes Fischer (percussion)

Portrait Matthias Pintscher – JACK Quartet



19:00 Museum Ludwig

21:00 Philharmonie

Study I for Treatise on the Veil
for violin and cello
Study IV for Treatise on the Veil
for string quartet

JACK Quartet

Matthias Pintscher speaks with Miriam Halwani, curator of the photographic collection of the Museum Ludwig (19:00)

idyll for orchestra




Australian premiere
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, conductor: Matthias Pintscher

Scores for download at EAM New York

The scores of selected chamber music pieces by Matthias Pintscher have been made available for download in the United States on

› To top ‹


Foto: Andrea Medici, BACI&BACI STUDIO, New York

More Information

› ‹

› To the composer portraits ‹


for composer Matthias Pintscher:

› cathy nelson artists and projects ‹

for conductor Matthias Pintscher:

› Opus3 Artists ‹