Beat Furrer – News

Recently released

Ender, Daniel[BVK 2235]
Metamorphosen des Klanges
Studien zum kompositorischen Werk von Beat Furrer
39,95 €

Beat Furrer awarded Great Austrian State Prize

The composer Beat Furrer has been awarded the Great Austrian State Prize (Großer Österreichischer Staatspreis). In its announcement, the Austrian Arts Senate gave its reasons for recommending the award of the State Prize to Beat Furrer, describing his music “with its distinctive style, characterised by the human voice and the interrelation of sound, language and visual effects, using sophisticated texts. His original musical language, characterised by a wealth of sensitive and subtle differentiation matching his sensitivity, but in no way compromising on the original power of the message and its expression, has aroused interest in the music world from right the outset.”

linea dell'orizzonte für Ensemble



Berkeley, Zellerbach Hall

Chapel Hill, Memorial Hall

Ensemble intercontemporain, conductor: Matthias Pintscher

linea dell'orizzonte für Ensemble


UK premiere

Huddersfield, Contemporary Music Festival

Klangforum Wien, conductor: Clement Power

linea dell'orizzonte für Ensemble


Wien, Konzerthaus (Wien modern)

PHACE Contemporary, conductor: Simeon Pironkoff

Beat Furrer at the Salzburg Dialoge
















Salzburg, Mozarteum

linea dell'orizzonte für Ensemble

Klangforum Wien, conductor: Beat Furrer


cold and calm and moving

oenm. oestereichisches ensemble fuer neue musik

Spur für Klavier und Streichquartett

Stadler Quartett, Per Rundberg (piano)


Neues Werk für Sopran und Posaune

Golda Schultz (Soprano), Mike Svoboda (trombone)


Enigma I, III, V

Salzburger Bachchor, conductor: Alois Glaßner


linea dell'orizzonte für Ensemble


Französische Erstaufführung

Paris, Philharmonie De Paris

Ensemble intercontemporain, conductor: Matthias Pintscher

strane costellazioni für Orchester



Slowenian premiere

Ljubljana (Philharmonie)

Slowenische Philharmonie, conductor: Beat Furrer

Scores for download

The scores of selected chamber music pieces by Beat Furrer have been made available for download in the United States on