(Kopie 1)
17.04.2012 10:39

Much more than “Winterreise” and “Schöne Müllerin”

All the Schubert lieder are now available in the New Schubert Edition

The publication of the ninth volume of Lieder (BA 5567) completes the scholarly edition of all the songs of Franz Schubert (1797–1828) as part of the New Schubert Edition. The fourteen volumes containing all 634 songs have been edited by Walther Dürr. They contain all further versions, sketches and contemporary ornaments for each song; for example, there are five authentic versions of the popular “Die Forelle” [The Trout]. The songs are complemented by commentaries on the sources and variants, together with suggestions for performance.

The New Edition of the Complete Works of Franz Schubert is supported by the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities and the Austrian Academy of Sciences. The Edition was set up in 1965 in Tübingen and Vienna and is published by Bärenreiter-Verlag Kassel.

To conclude the edition of the songs, a Schubert Liedlexikon has been published (Bärenreiter-Verlag 2012, 888 pages, € 89 in German) – a comprehensive reference work to the Schubert songs, containing an entry on every song.