300th Birthday of Christoph Willibald Gluck
on 2. July 2014

2 July 1714 Erasbach (Upper Palatinate); † 15 November 1787 Vienna

Christoph Willibald Gluck is regarded as one of the leading opera composers of the second half of the 18th century. He began other studies in Prague but soon devoted himself entirely to music. After a period in Vienna, he relocated to Milan in 1736. There, as well as working as an orchestral musician, he probably also studied with Sammartini and enjoyed his first success with his debut opera Artaserse. In 1745 he went to London where he performed with Handel whom he greatly admired. After further years spent travelling he lived in Vienna from 1752. Gluck’s name is inextricably linked with his operatic reforms in which he turned against the prevailing Italian and French conventions, instead placing importance on the supremacy of word over music, the faithfulness of expression, and dramatic unity. The works which follow these ideals (particularly Orfeo ed Euridice, but also Alceste, Armida and the two Iphigenie operas.) are frequently performed today and have defined our image of Gluck. There is however increasing interest in the treasures which remain to be rediscovered amongst his other operas.

Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 2302-90]
Armide - Armida
Drama héroique in fünf Akten
70,00 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 5774-90]
Dramma per musica in tre atti
60,00 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 2301-90]
Iphigénie en Aulide - Iphigenie in Aulis
Opera in three acts
68,00 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 4327-01]
Iphigenie in Aulis
Oper in 3 Akten. Deutsche Bühnenfassung nach Glucks letzter Partitureinrichtung (1775) von Paul Friedrich und Günther Rennert
5,50 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 2287-90]
Iphigénie en Tauride
Tragedy in four acts
46,50 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 2280-90]
La Rencontre imprévue
Opéra comique in 3 Akten
43,50 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 2293-90]
L'Ile de Merlin ou Le Monde renversé (Merlins Insel oder Die verkehrte Welt)
Comic Opera in one act
25,95 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 2282-90]
Orphée et Euridice
Tragédie-opéra (Drame héroïque) in three acts
43,95 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[BA 5845-90]
Orpheus and Eurydice
Opera in three acts
32,95 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[NMA 206]
Zwei Triosonaten für zwei Violinen und Basso continuo
Sonaten A-dur und B-dur
14,50 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[NMA 207]
Zwei Triosonaten für zwei Violinen und Basso continuo
Sonaten Es-dur und F-dur
14,50 €
Gluck, Christoph Willibald[NMA 208]
Zwei Triosonaten für zwei Violinen und Basso continuo
Sonaten E-dur und F-dur
14,50 €
Croll, Gerhard / Croll, Renate[BVK 2166]
Gluck. Sein Leben. Seine Musik
0,00 €

› To top ‹