Bärenreiter is one of the largest international publishers for string music. Our catalogue includes not only the complete oeuvre for solo strings by Bach, Brahms, Handel, Mozart and Schubert, but also works by other composers such as Beethoven, Corelli, Debussy, Dvorak, Elgar, Franck, Lalo, Mendelssohn, Paganini, Saint-Saens, Ravel, and Vivaldi.
The layout of Bärenreiter Urtext editions satisfies the highest aesthetic demands in terms of spacing and transparency, also providing optimum page turns and, where necessary, fold-out pages that eliminate disruptive page-turning. Our editions offer reliable musical texts and comprehensive forewords on the history of the works and their sources. Many editions also provide useful information on performance practice addressing historical playing techniques, historical instruments, ornamentation, articulation, vibrato, and more. The Critical Commentaries explain source discrepancies and editorial decisions. Many editions include not only a ‘clean’ Urtext part, but also a second string part with fingering and bowing.
Apart from our extensive Urtext catalogue we also publish collections and educational titles, as well as facsimiles and books relating to string music.
Discover Bärenreiter’s string editions by browsing our Shop. We invite you to see our new publications here.

For further information on the Sassmannshaus String Method please click here.


24.95 €

31.50 €

21.95 €

15.95 €

20.50 €

15.50 €

21.95 €


17.95 €

20.50 €


18.50 €

35.95 €

4.95 €

19.95 €

22.95 €