Giuseppe Tartini (1692–1770)

Complete Edition of the Musical Works

The “Complete Edition of the Musical Works by Giuseppe Tartini” offers the entire musical Œuvre of one of the most famous 18th-century composers, instrumentalists and pedagogues, mentor to more than one hundred students from all over Europe.

The edition is based, for the first time, on a comparison of all extant sources: autographs, authorized prints, as well as copies produced under the supervision of the composer or within his circle. Straight-forward editorial guidelines ensure reliable musical texts, the result of scholarly-critical research at the cutting edge of musicology taking into account historically informed performance practice. All volumes contain a Critical Commentary that defines the editorial guidelines and describes specifics of the respective work or group of works, always with reference to most recent evidence and the broader compositional environment of the “Maestro delle nazioni”. In addition, each volume includes a historical introduction examining relevant literary references in Tartini’s music (the so–called “mottos”) as well as aspects of reception history and accounts by contemporaries of Tartini. The edition offers source descriptions, appendices containing alternative variants and readings, as well as a detailed commentary. The scores meet the highest standards of legibility.

Apart from the many works for violin, violoncello, and transverse flute, for both chamber and orchestral ensembles, the edition encompasses hitherto largely unpublished vocal music for liturgical or other devotional purposes. The first volume of a series devoted to Tartini’s important didactic works contains the famous “Arte dell’arco” (with 19 previously unpublished variations), another volume the “Treatise on Embellishments,” and a third, embellished versions of sonata and concerto movements.

The Subscription

A total of approximately 25 volumes will be published, divided into seven series:

Series I: Musica sacra e devozionale
Series II: Sonate per violino solo, con e senza il basso
Series III: Sonate a tre
Series IV: Sonate a quattro
Series V: Concerti
Series VI: Opere e fonti per la didattica
Series VII: Trascrizioni d’epoca per altri strumenti

Each volume of the bilingual edition (Italian/English) contains an Introduction, remarks on performance practice, facsimiles of selected sources or historical documents, the critically edited musical text, appendices where appropriate, as well as a Critical Commentary (Italian only) with a description of the relevant sources and detailed notes. Format 25.5 x 32.5 cm, linen.

For further information please ask your customer service.