Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)

New Edition of the Complete Works

Edited by the International Mozarteum Foundation, Salzburg in cooperation with the Mozart cities of Augsburg, Salzburg and Vienna

The New Mozart Edition offers researchers a musicologically unimpeachable text based on all the available sources (first and foremost Mozart's autograph manuscripts). At the same time, it also serves as an aid to authentic performances.

The principal Series I to IX, containing Mozart's actual œuvre, appeared between 1956 and 1991. They are regarded as a supreme achievement of Mozart scholarship in our time; modern performances of Mozart's music are unthinkable without them. The important supplementary volumes shed fresh and illuminating light on neglected aspects of Mozart's creative work, such as his activities as a teacher or as an arranger of other composer's works.

The edition is divided into thirty-five groups of works combined into ten series. Each group includes Mozart's finished works in chronological order; sketches, drafts and fragments of the works are located in an appendix to the relevant volume. In addition to the printed text, each volume of music contains a detailed preface and facsimile reproductions from the source material. Each volume of music is also accompanied by a separately published critical report.

Subscription Guidelines

The main series (I–IX) were completed in 1991. The following purchasing options are available for this edition:

  • Purchase of individual volumes at retail sales prices
  • Standing order (a price advantage of approx. 10 %)
  • Part subscription to individual series (a price advantage of approx. 15 %)
  • Full subscription (a price advantage of approx. 20 %)

For further information please ask your customer service.